All About ME

My name is Jonathan Matta, you might recognize my last name from my brother David Matta. He’s in second year Media Production and I look forward to spending the next 4 years the same way I spent the last 12 – in his shadow. I commute down to this exciting city from boring old Markham, only 30 minutes away.

I’m a musician and I have been since I was 6 – I play guitar, piano, bass, drums, and this one time (all of high school) I even played clarinet. Guitar is my main instrument and I love it more than anything (except my girlfriend), but what really makes it exciting for me is pedals. They’re these lil’ boxes with a buttons, knobs, switches, and all sorts of stuff that you plug your guitar into and turn it from a boring ol’ piece of wood with strings, into anything you want (mostly spaceships and aliens). So far I have a pretty great collection of these magical space boxes, and I’ve spent way more money on them than I’m willing to admit.

I really love music; listening to it, talking about it, or watching performances of it. So if you ever want to do any of those things, I’m always down. My parents have been a big part of that and I’m always grateful to them for that. I started out listening to your basic dad rock (also Allstar by Smashmouth), but as I got older I slowly started listening to more psychedelic music, then modern indie and alternative, and now I’m really getting into jazz and hip-hop. Other than listen to and play music I don’t really do much, but if you have any good movie suggestions let me know because I really don’t spend enough time sitting on the couch.

Leave a comment